h1

SpaceX Flying Model Falcon 9

February 21, 2019
IMG_7208

This is a somewhat modified version of the SpaceX Falcon 9 with Payload Fairing kit that is sold on the SpaceX web site. It is built to depict the Iridium 8 launch of January 11, 2019. The original kit was about a block 2 version, with all the detail printed on the glossy paper wrap on the body tube. I added the grid fins and landing legs, which were 3D printed by Boyce Aerospace Hobbies. I also covered the printed piping raceway that was white on the previous versions with black cardboard – you can barely see it on the left side of the model, running all the way up the side of the tube. I also painted the interstage flat black. These changes mostly update it, at least superficially, to a block 5 airframe. I also created a wrap for the payload fairing from the AXM Paper Space Scale Models web site, upscaling it and printing it on heavy glossy paper. There were many other things I could do to increase the level of detail, but it’s supposed to be a flying model, using D and E engines. Most small details would either be torn off in flight or on landing. I just hope I can keep it out of the trees!

It’s a heavy model, with a heavier-than usual body tube for its size. I figure the designers thought a heavy model would look more authentic taking off from the pad. We will see!

Boyce Aerospace Hobbies: http://boyceaerospacehobbies.com

ASM Paper Space Scale Models: http://axmpaperspacescalemodels.com

SpaceX store: https://shop.spacex.com/accessories.html

Leave a comment