h1

Anybody want to be a first reader?

December 1, 2011

I’ve resurrected my first novel…long-time readers of this blog, all three or four of you! – may remember me excerpting parts of it a couple of years ago, and there may be a possibility of it getting put out where people can actually read it. With a little luck it will be vetted for fitting into S.M. Stirling’s “Drakaverse” canon in the next few months. I could use a couple of people who have better grammar skills than I to help go over it. I also could use a person or two who has read the Draka series, or at least “The Stone Dogs,” to read through it as well.

It’s alternate-universe science fiction. Explaining the Drakaverse would take a couple of thousand words at least, or a couple of hundred thousand. One way to find out is to get the Baen Books ebook called “The Domination,” which has just gone back into print this month. It’s only six bucks for all three books of the Draka trilogy. It’s intriguing but scary alternate history. I decided to tell the story of the early days of the US space program in the Drakaverse, sort of like Tom Wolfe’s “The Right Stuff.” Stirling had already given us a very clear picture of the Draka side of the world.

Updates on other novels: The second novel, a near-future science fiction story about the early days of exploration of other solar systems, is sort of stalled. I know where it’s going, but I decided to go on to something else and I shelved it for a while. 

The “something else” is a story that attempts to combine the Michael Crichton techno-thriller style with cutting-edge quantum physics/string theory. Yeah, that’s what I said. To do it justice, I have to learn a lot about particle physics. So there’s a bit of a learning curve! I’m about 30K words into it and it’s going pretty well.

I have another book sketched out, alternate history/steampunk, but nothing’s actually written yet except notes. 

Anyway, let me know if you might be interested in reading “The Righteous Stuff.” I don’t know when I can get it to you but I would be very interested in what folks think of it.

Oh, and if you are somebody I don’t know personally, please include a little bit of a bio and why I should send it to you to read. Pretty demanding for an unpublished novelist, aren’t I?

One comment

  1. I am an excellent proof reader. I’d be thrilled to read this!



Leave a Reply

