h1

“The Righteous Stuff” update and other stuff

January 2, 2010

I sent it to Baen yesterday. Now I wait…and wait…and wait.

I should  be working on my next book, or something. I’m watching the “NCIS” marathon on USA Network instead. This is why I am not a multimillionaire, I expect.

I got this in the mail today:

I got mine from CultTVMan.

It was originally released as the “Leif Ericson Galactic Cruiser,” and was designed by Matt Jeffries, the same man who designed the original Enterprise. You can sort of see that it seems to have its origins in a shampoo bottle or something similar.

This incarnation came out a year or two later, in glow-in-the-dark green plastic. The reissue is also in  glow-in-the-dark styrene.

It appears that AMT was trying to start its own line of fictional space ships not related to a TV series, even though it also had the franchise for the Star Trek ships. Only the one model was ever produced for the “Strategic Space Command.” series.

Round 2 now owns the molds for the old AMT kits. I had heard that the molds for this model were lost about 5 years ago. I don’t know if they reverse-engineered it or found the molds. They also have the Polar Lights molds, since some of the same leadership is involved in the new company. Polar Lights got its start by repopping or reverse-engineering old Aurora kits. They also did some great things, like creating the 1/350 refit Enterprise model. (I have one of those, with aftermarket brass photoetch and decals, waiting in storage. It will be a challenge bigger than the Seaview.)

So Round 2 just brought out this kit. I got mine today from CultTVMan. I plan to build it up as the INS MacArthur, from Niven and Pournelle’s The Mote In God’s Eye. They used the original kit as a thought experiment when they started to design a ship for the book. Rich Sternbach (yep, that Rich Sternbach) knew this when he painted the artwork for the Mote cover:

INS MacArthur

I don’t think I want to paint it the hideous blue in the Pournelle article. (To be fair, that one was sent to Jerry later. His original was destroyed in an earthquake.) It kind of looks like that “duck egg blue” the Enterprise-D was supposed to be, even though I thought it was silver.

I won’t be starting this one for a while. I’ve not finished the little auxiliaries for the Seaview. I have the Moebius Flying Sub in 1/32 I was planning to tackle after that. I have some repair work to do to the Ariane 5 and the von Braun shuttle rocket, damaged by my daughter’s cat and the cleaning people. I also have some stands to fix, for the X-Men Jet and my son’s landspeeder that I painted as a NASCAR competitor. (Tony Stewart, Home Depot, bright orange.) And…that evil Allen Ury, the man who is getting more and more of my hard-earned cash all the time, is going to bring out Scott Lowther’s Orion Class Nuclear Battleship in January through his Fantastic Plastic company! (Oh, and I got his Aurora hypersonic spy plane kit for Christmas, so that’s in the queue as well! He tempts me, he does!)

Did I mention I might have a part-time job coming up sometime this spring? Not sure yet.

Leave a Reply

