h1

Computer ups and downs

November 15, 2009

MacLogo

My main home computer is a 20 inch iMac, from just before the switch from G5 to Intel. It’s about four and a half years old. I’m running it with a second monitor and after the Apple folks replaced the first faulty power supply it’s been a good machine. Last weekend I tried to burn a DVD of some grandkid movie files and got errors in the burn, so I ran Disk Utility to check it out. The left-side list showed the internal boot disk in red, and said it was beginning to fail. Oh noes!

I went to Micro Center (a half-mile down the street) and got a Seagate 1TB internal drive for 85 bucks, on sale. Popped it in – it took about 15 minutes. Then it took FOUR DAYS to get the OS, apps and data ported over. Twice I tried to use Time Machine to do it, and twice the Restore app hung halfway through. Two days killed. Then I installed the OS from the original DVD, and then restored the apps using Migration Assistant. That only took two days – one for most of the stuff, and another for the stuff it missed, somehow, the first time around. By Saturday it was back to normal, and I have two 500GB partitions where I used to have one 250 GB drive.

2 comments

  1. I’m really loving the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A few of my blog audience have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any tips to help fix this issue?


    • This comment doesn’t look like spam, but I’m not sure. Assuming it’s not – and Carlos, if it’s for real, my sincere apologies – here’s what I would recommend: Be3 aware I’ve not had to code a web site from scratch in a couple of years. Then I used Dreamweaver, and I liked it a lot. This blog doesn’t require any setup from me, so I don’t worry about display issues – those are for the folks at WordPress to figure out. That said, back when I was doing web site work, and working a lot with SharePoint, in particular, I found it worked the other way – stuff that looked OK in IE didn’t in other browsers because Microsoft was the most guilty of using non-standard web practices. Three years ago, when I was working every day with SharePoint 2007 and 2010, I had no end of grief trying to read SharePoint sites in other browsers. I’ve not kept up with it to know if they’ve gotten better – Microsoft should just understand that they lost the browser wars and they had better make their products more compatible. Generally I use Chrome as my default browser. It does a pretty good job. Today the compatibility issue is more with mobile devices reading a site. I plan to try Adobe Muse in the near future to upgrade my business site. Maybe I will document my activities on using it!



Leave a Reply

