h1

Calling Bruce Walker!!

July 28, 2009

questionmark20face-1Back in the day, when I was in undergraduate school, I had a friend who was one of the most talented musicians I ever met. His name was Bruce Walker, he was originally from the Cleveland area, and he was at the University of Toledo studying music at least from 1972-77. He played clarinet, flute, piccolo, saxophones, bassoon (!) and bass pedals. I completely lost touch with him. Google searches don’t seem to help – I doubt he ended up playing professional football, and it would have been a stretch for him to become a born-again keyboard player or an A&R guy at Motown Records. I’m really curious what ever happened to him. If he happens to see this, please drop me a comment…if you’re not the right guy, please don’t! Thanks!

3 comments

  1. I am looking for him too! Used to work with him in a band. I attended his wedding but heard he was divorced also. Brilliant and very very nice man. Let me know if you find him please. Would love to send him an email! TKS


  2. I hope you folks found this out long ago, but if not…
    Bruce passed away on Nov. 8, 2004 of lung cancer. He was one of my best friends from grade school through high school. We played in many bands together then and occasionally played a gig or show together while we were both in college. We didn’t see each other much after college, but we stayed in touch. I was fortunate to spend some time with him in 2002. He knew then that he had cancer, I will miss him as long as I live. His Obituary is at: http://obits.cleveland.com/obituaries/cleveland/obituary-preview.aspx?n=bruce-r-walker&pid=2803312&referrer=258


  3. Harry – Thanks for letting me know. The power of the internets! I really figured I would never know what happened to him. It’s sad to hear he passed – I lived in Stow, Ohio for 3 years in the early 1980s and might have run into him if I had known he was there. He was such an amazing talent. I’m so sorry to hear he is gone, but I want to thank you very, very much for letting me know. Jeff



Leave a Reply

