h1

Listen to the new Thomas Paine

June 24, 2009

I found this guy by looking for something else. The more I listened, the more sense he made.

I was surprised by his call for a mandatory two years’ service, but it makes a lot of sense to me. As someone who works with high school kids every day, it would break the cycle of using high school only as a way to prepare the correct resume for that perfect college. The performance records from those two years of service would be an excellent way for colleges to really find out what candidates for admission are about, and college students would be two years older, more mature, and hopefully more willing to get an education without all the “social” trappings that are such a large part of college today. (I find more and more that the kids I know base their decisions on the appropriate college as if they were choosing a golf course, not an institution of education.)

I’m also a great believer in term limits. I think a lot of the problems in Washington have to do with Congresscritters with too much power, amassed over many many years. (Look at Ted Kennedy, for the perfect example: should this man be put in charge of anything?)

Anyway, check him out. Be thoughtful about what he says. Also, I recommend Glenn Beck’s new book, “Glenn Beck’s Common Sense: The Case Against An Out-Of-Control Government.” I’m listening to the audiobook now. Beck reads it himself, and does a fine job.

Leave a Reply

