h1

Frustration with iWeb

July 9, 2008

Yep, that’s me. Grumpy Donald Duck. Recently I switched our family pages from the .mac pages to iWeb, mainly to see what iWeb would do – I could build them in DreamWeaver, like I do my school site, but I liked the idea of integrating iWeb and iPhoto. And, with the addition of a third-party template, I was pretty happy with the results. iWeb is slow, very slow, but it works, and builds nav menus without you having to update a bunch of crap, so that’s nice.

But it doesn’t play nice with Firefox 3. There are technical reasons for it, which you can read about here, if you really care. There is a patch (you can find it on the same page) for Macs, but it didn’t work for me. I tried replacing the files by hand as well, as described on the Apple Support Discussion Boards, but no luck…so to see our granddaughters’ photos, you have to use IE, or Safari, or Firefox 2. Hopefully either Mozilla or Apple will fix this soon, as it’s very frustrating and I wouldn’t have done it if I had known there was a major problem with page display. This is the kind of stuff web page design apps SHOULD NEVER DO. I should know – I’ve had to fight with FrontPage at work for the past year!

If anyone else knows of a way to fix this, I’d love to hear it!

Leave a Reply

