h1

A Sad Day For Jazz Education

April 18, 2008

I can’t believe it – the International Association for Jazz Education (IAJE) filed for bankruptcy.  Of course, it wasn’t posted until tonight, and I sent our application for my band to play at the conference THIS FRACKING MORNING!

I don’t know the details and more than the statement that you can read on iaje.org. The organization has been around since the 1960s and I served as Illinois State President a bunch of years ago. The national conference, back when it was still the National Association of Jazz Educators, was the place where I made most of the contacts I have in the jazz community. It is truly a sad thing. Perhaps a new organization will be reconstituted to replace it…but it sure is too soon to tell.

Leave a Reply

